A Message To All Millennials*

*And anyone else younger or older who identifies with the content I’m putting across here.

Dear Fellow Millennials,

I don’t know you, and you don’t know me. I’m just another person on the internet sharing thoughts and ideas that probably only a few people will read. But I feel as though my message is an important one, and I want as many people to read it as possible.

The world around us is crumbling. Maybe this has been going on for years, but it’s only within the past two decades in which the internet has been around to provide information and let us know what’s going on. But things are falling apart, there’s no denying this. And I don’t think we can rely on the older generations to fix this anymore. No, this is up to us.

And I have – or at least, I desperately want to have  – faith in us. This isn’t a competition of who can be more socially aware, but if it were a contest, then our generation would be winning. We are the generation that grew up with social media, and finding comforts with internet friends who lived on the other side of the globe. We are the generation that old people shake their heads at. We are a generation of kids who struggled with self-esteem and body positivity as beauty expectations rose higher and higher. We are the generation of change.

Every generation faced their own struggles as they grew up and into the real world, the difference about our generation is the urgency to do the right thing before it’s too late. And I believe that we have a power to make change. If I don’t believe this, then I have nothing to believe in. Being the change isn’t hard, though. If everyone stands together to meet a common goal, then change is achievable. We just need to figure out how to do this. In my opinion, education is the most important part of this. Education = knowledge. Knowledge = power. Power = change. See where I’m going with this? (I think it’s really important to use your university degree  to help influence your activist voice, I’ve discussed this in this blog post).

With the whole world right at our fingertips on our iphones and laptops, it has never been easier to educate yourself. Question everything. Don’t believe what the media says. Find out for yourself. Develop your own opinions and ideas, and when people try to crush them, simply respond with an offer to help.

Learn about what’s wrong with this world, and learn what you can do to help. I don’t have all of the answers, but I’m reading, and I’m learning all the time. Being at university has helped me think more critically about everything. Even my younger sister (just turned sixteen), has more political knowledge than I ever did when I was her age. This is so inspiring, that in a mere five years, people younger than me are developing their minds. What will she be like when she’s my age? She wants to do some good in this world, and fortunately our parents are liberal enough to let her.

As I’ve said before, every time we spend money, we are either supporting or boycotting a company. We need to be thinking every time we make a purchase. What are we eating? What are we wearing? Should we be supporting this? Does this conflict with my moral values? For example, most people are against animal cruelty. So why do so many of us still eat meat and wear leather? Educate yourself about what you support, no matter how small it seems. Change your lives to fit with your views.

Also, don’t just live the way your parents want you to. If my mother had her way, I’d be in a career in business straight after finishing my degree, and getting a mortgage on a house. But how am I supposed to influence and change the world living like that? It’s up to you to find your own path and follow it, rather than blindly obeying what other people want you to do. Being comfortable and moderately wealthy is one thing, being happy is another. What would you rather?

I’m not writing this message to tell people what to do, as usual I’ve kept it pretty vague. It’s just a collection of thoughts and rambles that go through my head on a daily basis when I worry about the state of the world. The only thing that reassures me today is the work from conservationists, activists, and our own generation. Every time I see someone unexpected from my old school stand up and speak out, I feel slightly reassured. We are thinking along the right lines. And there’s so many of us, that surely, surely if we all practiced what we preached, something good would come from it?

I don’t know. What do you think?

Yours sincerely,

Me.

Don’t forget to share this page and subscribe to the website for new content. You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram and Tumblr for even more!

Leave a Reply

