21 things this 21 year old has learned

paintingthorsmorkpjs 2

A summary of my 21 years in pictures: wishy-washy artwork, hiking, and my pyjamas

***

So, apparently I’m going to be twenty-one in a couple of days. Really? What’s that all about? As far as I’m aware, I’m not an adult at all. I still feel like a sixteen year old teenager, if I’m being honest.

I have to admit, my sweet sixteen was probably the best year of my life. It was a year of excitement and new experiences. I went to my first concert with my best friends (oh Darren Criss, how I loved you so), I went on holiday without my parents for the first time, I had my first kiss, I met my first boyfriend (four and a half years and still counting!), and I dyed my hair blonde. I was a new person, I had everything I could have ever wished for. And now? Well, life’s still great, but I have to pay rent, bills, and live off a student loan.

The good thing about turning twenty-one, is that I have twenty-one years of experience under my belt. I have snippets of knowledge and wisdom that sixteen year old me was completely ignorant of. That being said, I’m going to share with you 21 pieces of information that have helped me become to person I am today (cliché, but true).

  1. It’s okay not to be happy all of the time. After all, if you were happy all the time, would you really know what it was like to experience happiness?
  2. Try to floss every day, and go for bi-annual dentist checkups. It will be worth it in the long run.
  3. Don’t base your achievements off other people’s social media accounts. That goes without saying, really. Everyone exaggerates on social media, but that doesn’t mean that their lives are better than yours.
  4. Make art and practice writing, even if nobody else will see it. Do it for yourself. I used to get home from work in the afternoons and paint until the evening. I stuck them all up around my room.
  5. Set yourself goals. Work towards them. Achieve them. Feel proud. There’s no better feeling in the world than working hard towards something and doing well at it. In 2014 I went from being relatively unfit, to running a half marathon. I was so proud!
  6. Every purchase you make either supports or boycotts a company. Choose wisely, choose sustainably. In a 2016 where our world is bruised and damaged, who do you want to support with your dollar?
  7. Pyjama days are fun. Look at me, I’m officially no longer a teenager, and I’m sat writing this post in the early evening in my penguin-patterned PJs. This is the height of success.
  8. Some friendships deteriorate over time, that’s just what happens. Sad reality, I’m no longer friends with most of my high-school friends. Fortunately, I have new friends who share similar interests to me. It’s not all bad.
  9. No animal deserves to die to satisfy my tastebuds. I will say this until the day I die. Animals are my friends, not food. I’m just disappointed in how long it took me to realise this.
  10. Try and see the world through other people’s perspectives. Subjectivity is powerful (and fuels great activism), but being objective and open minded is just as important.
  11. Introverts are cool. ‘Nuff said.
  12. Life’s too short not to enjoy junk food. That includes eating to your heart’s desire rather than calorie counting. Life can be tough, you deserve those curly fries.
  13. That being said, aim to eat (and enjoy) as many fruits and veggies as you can per day. And stay hydrated. Your body will thank you.
  14. Photographs are great, but remember to experience life through your own eyes, too. Who knows what you might miss out on if you try and see everything through your camera lens?
  15. Going hiking in the mountains is a great form of therapy. Or hiking anywhere for that matter. Being out in nature helps me find peace.
  16. Everyone should work in customer service at least once. Yes, it’s bad pay. Yes, customers can be rude. But it teaches you so many lessons about being nice to others.
  17. After paying rent and bills etc., food is the most important thing to spend money on. Your food is your fuel. And this doesn’t mean spending hundreds a week on Domino’s. What I mean is you shouldn’t worry about overspending in the supermarket. Your food has the potential to kill or cure you, so don’t be too hard on your grocery budget.
  18. Learn to love yourself without wearing makeup. You’ll save loads of money, your skin will thank you, and guess what? You don’t need makeup to be attractive.
  19. Passion towards something is the strongest emotion out there. Forget hate, or jealousy … fill yourself with passion and never be bored again. For example, as soon as I realised I was passionate about animal rights, I was spending all my free time looking into career paths I could take, watching and sharing videos on the internet, starting this blog … and it’s all for a good cause!
  20. This is your life, so do what you love. Just meet your own expectations and you’ll be happy. Don’t lead out the life your parents want you to if you’re not 100% committed. Find your own path.
  21. Age is just a number, time is not real. Humans are the only animal who go by time, and counting … forget numbers. Forget expectations. You do you at your pace, and if you don’t want to be 21, then don’t be. You can be whatever age you want. After all, all adults are are big kids with jobs.

I’m happy about who I am, and my age doesn’t define this. It doesn’t matter that I’m turning 21, I’m still content with what I’m doing, and that’s awesome. I am me.

Does anybody else have any snippets of wisdom to share on growing up? I know I’m still young and learning, I don’t know everything yet. That’s why sharing ideas is good, so, share away! Feel free to leave comments on your experience of hitting a milestone birthday.

Thanks for reading!

I now have instagram! If you like photos of vegan food, nature, travel and other kinds of awesomeness, please follow me

 

 

Leave a Reply

